Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Review | 2018 VW Tiguan | Politically Correct Design

Car Review

Review | 2018 VW Tiguan | Politically Correct Design



We review the new larger and more Americanized Tiguan. Choices in the CUV and SUV segment are growing like a disease and many shoppers want to choose a winner. Our top picks continue to be staples like the Mazda CX-5, Toyota RAV4, Honda CRV and Hyundai Tucson. Will this VW make the cut for families?

Special Thanks to:
Karen Centipede
Jack Singapore

Music by Alan Fowler:

BendPak is our Official Lift Provider

Index:
00:00 – 1:25 Intro
1:25 – 2:19 Exterior Montage
2:19 – 8:00 Interior Impressions – Pros
8:00 – 11:00 Interior Impressions – Cons
11:00 – 12:07 Interior Impressions – Cargo
12:07 – 18:02 In the Shoppe – Underbody, Suspension and Balance
18:02 – 23:50 Driving Impressions
23:50 Final Thoughts

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

38 Comments

38 Comments

  1. Pete Zaitcev

    March 23, 2018 at 9:49 pm

    Stuck with a libnazi? Poor man.

  2. smasila

    March 23, 2018 at 9:53 pm

    Finally a reviewer who is thinking what I was thinking…..these new VW are the most boring cars ever made!

  3. smasila

    March 23, 2018 at 10:05 pm

    14:23…is that a plastic oil pan????

  4. Sherm T

    March 23, 2018 at 10:50 pm

    You getting into the third row was great! Hahahahahaaaaa

  5. Paul Cooper

    March 24, 2018 at 12:36 am

    I would get one, but I work at the zoo.
    The monkeys would go ape $hit.

  6. H W

    March 24, 2018 at 12:53 am

    Great video. Snoozeville on the Tiguan.

  7. Dylan Lewis

    March 24, 2018 at 1:29 am

    9:07 – I figured your wrist would be a little stronger.

  8. Jeff Smith

    March 24, 2018 at 2:02 am

    Can you just make videos like your intro? Haha amaze

  9. John Harris

    March 24, 2018 at 2:35 am

    Brilliant review as always you make something Boring and Uninteresting as SUV's ,and i Hate Them, Very interesting to Watch.
    Can We Now Have Some reviews on Car's Like The New V6 Camry, Golf R / GTI ,Kia Stinger GT Perhap's.
    John the Pom in Aus

  10. presteronetj

    March 24, 2018 at 2:38 am

    I found in the repair manual info recently some of these engines (maybe only europe market) have secondary port injection. Much like lexus did to prevent carbon buildup. If you look at the intake manifold you can see the boss for where they drill or cast the hole for port injector. Useless fact for the day you tubers there ya go.

  11. Mitchell Pritsker

    March 24, 2018 at 3:52 am

    The VW Atlas has a better third row compared to the VW Tiguan that has a third row.

  12. Doctor Fail

    March 24, 2018 at 7:04 am

    Hmm, Civic style phone holder in the middle, Civic style mesh "squares" on the rear quarter panel, and Civic style hidden dual exhaust vents… They took those design cues, but left the interior bland and monotone? Odd.

  13. WeAreLegion

    March 24, 2018 at 7:35 am

    Looked at these as well as every other option in this segment. You name it we test drove it. From this Tiguan to a Q5, Q7, X3, X5, Grand Cherokee, MKC etc etc. We ended up buying a Ford Edge Sport. The wife loves it. It’s nice. And is surprisingly quick for its weight/size. AWD of course.

  14. patientx77

    March 24, 2018 at 12:29 pm

    Can you get a Golf Alltrack?

  15. Joe Smith

    March 24, 2018 at 12:37 pm

    Where is Scott? He needs to make a comeback

  16. Sheepish Lord

    March 24, 2018 at 1:30 pm

    Owned one back in 2010, same motor/awd. Was okay at first but became uncomfortable after awhile and the turbo lag was disappointing and interior was lacking. Btw, did you know Tiguan means Tiger+Iguana? Yeah it’s a thing.

  17. Tim Flohr

    March 24, 2018 at 3:25 pm

    German design has lost its way. The sportier cars have become ostentatious and lower trim cars have become boring. They lost that carefully subdued yet elegant design. German cars always felt subtle and understated, but now they're either way too flashy or a snooze fest. I think Honda has done a better job of walking that fine line with the new Accord.

  18. Tyrann

    March 24, 2018 at 3:36 pm

    really appreciate the underbody showing. Nice review!

  19. bigballer

    March 24, 2018 at 3:59 pm

    Really looking forward to the Subaru Crosstrek review!

  20. HK 3

    March 24, 2018 at 4:24 pm

    Wonderful review as always. With so many formidable YouTube car reviewers out there, you stand out with your second-to-none production quality, non-sugarcoated reviews, and useable info. I enjoy the other reviewers as well, but they offer their own brand and flavor. They tend to put out reviews more frequently, but when your videos come out, it's like I'm watching something way better in terms of quality and entertainment.

    Keep up the great work! Nice job in changing up with the intro.

  21. Theodrick Davis

    March 24, 2018 at 4:42 pm

    Wagner for German marks …………

  22. MrCharliethegoldfish

    March 24, 2018 at 4:43 pm

    forgot to blur out the number at the start?

  23. Jake Maningding

    March 24, 2018 at 4:59 pm

    A KIA/Hyundai comes with more quality than a VW. German engineering my fucking ass. Don't bend over for VW. Luckily, Toyotas exist so I don't have to rely on this POS company VW.

  24. Imperfect Science

    March 24, 2018 at 5:01 pm

    I think when you start with saving all the bleeding edge tech for the upcoming Audi Q3, the more risqué design bits for the Touareg, and finally let the bean counters go past 2.5 decibels at the developer conference call, you get this Tiguan. It’s kind of like going to the local Indian restaurant and ordering low spice, low salt, vegan Indian food. You get food. Generic. But that’s all you’ve allowed it to be. Brilliant review as always.

  25. jay m

    March 24, 2018 at 6:18 pm

    Hey savagegeese audi does the same thing with the muffler setup on the a7 i think. Car companies are being very cheap asses..

  26. bannajirocks

    March 24, 2018 at 6:27 pm

    i like mazda cx5 better.. their interior is a notch above. and i love the way it handles and i love naturally aspirated engines since they have instance throttle response

  27. Anabol27

    March 24, 2018 at 8:54 pm

    the quality of the films you produce is amazing. I congratulate you on your skills, I admire your hard work. I watch your films with great pleasure. Greetings from Poland.

  28. CJRhoades

    March 24, 2018 at 10:08 pm

    180hp for 4000lbs. What a joke. Put a family and some cargo in that thing and it'd be miserable. A 2L turbo should be making at least 250hp these days.

  29. Spiro Vlahakis

    March 24, 2018 at 10:39 pm

    In your reviews could you please mention if the reviewed car comes with a full size spare, compact spare or one of those fix a flat systems. Love the reviews especially when you don't love the car. Keep up the great work.

  30. chris668899

    March 25, 2018 at 12:00 am

    The engine is more suited to a tractor. Peak HP at 4400 rpm?

  31. elton john

    March 25, 2018 at 3:31 am

    I'm surprised at how VW has done so much to keep costs down. That's impressive, but it produced an entirely mediocre vehicle.

  32. FAautobahn A

    March 25, 2018 at 5:11 am

    really liked your review, particularly bcs you discussed tech issues. however, you focused on personality (which is highly subjective) bit too much.

  33. Pyrotekis

    March 25, 2018 at 5:34 am

    The fact that they have a turbo 4 cylinder that makes under 200hp in 2018, and as the only engine option on a 4000 pound SUV is ridiculous.

    I think VW is just becoming as a whole the brand that is average. There's nothing really exciting about new VW's, however they aren't bad cars either. They're just cars, for people that just want a car.

  34. SPN 1

    March 25, 2018 at 7:01 am

    $35K is AVERAGE price of NEW CAR = your expectations SHOULDNT BE HIGH at this price

  35. Saxman

    March 25, 2018 at 10:29 am

    Looks like they took all the good bits out before that sent this stateside. GTI motor, nice interior ect.

  36. Jamal McCullough

    March 25, 2018 at 2:49 pm

    Are you thinking of doing a review on the Cadillac CT6

  37. TTercel

    March 25, 2018 at 4:17 pm

    You should list the 1 year, 4 year, and 7 year maintenance costs. It would highlight unexpected maintenance costs like DSG servicing.

  38. Sang Eeth

    March 25, 2018 at 4:57 pm

    I love, I love, I love this channel. 😍

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top