Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Review: 2018 Mazda3 Grand Touring – The Enthusiast’s Compact

Car Review

Review: 2018 Mazda3 Grand Touring – The Enthusiast’s Compact



I review the 2018 Mazda3 with an automatic in Grand Touring trim. I was really impressed by it! What do you think of these? Huge thanks to Mazda for providing this car for me to review.
Shirts and other merch:
Camera gear used:
You can follow me on Twitter @mattmaran, on Instagram @mattmaranmotoring, and on Snapchat as ‘thesubaruwrxfan’.
“Like” the Facebook page for more updates!
Business inquires can be directed to mattmaranmotoring (at) gmail (dot) com

Matt Maran Motoring is a participant in the Amazon Influencer Program.

Song is ‘Inspire’ by Yttrium and is provided by Argofox. It can be heard in its entirety here:

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

29 Comments

29 Comments

  1. Jason Wang

    January 24, 2018 at 7:42 am

    Mazda is the best

  2. Robert Struck

    January 24, 2018 at 2:27 pm

    Just give me a new turbo mazdaspeed3 hatch thanks. This thing just looks like a rehashed 6 series. The HUD looks cheap and poorly done. Oh and no car connectivity with android or apple? Matt's right, c'mon Mazda it's 2018!

  3. Liam Filipowski

    January 24, 2018 at 6:04 pm

    First car I'm gonna get when I graduate college for sure !! But in hatchback form with a 6-speed!

  4. Liam Filipowski

    January 24, 2018 at 6:04 pm

    What about the Bose sound ??? Please talk more about the sound systems in reviews ! This is important !

  5. vipirius123

    January 24, 2018 at 8:57 pm

    Would be the perfect car if only it had Android Auto. Still probably the best in it's class despite that to be honest.

  6. mohamed magdy

    January 25, 2018 at 12:03 am

    So which do you think is more fun to drive Honda Civic or Mazda 3 ?????

  7. TVinmyEye

    January 25, 2018 at 1:55 am

    Can you review the
    2018 Elantra GT sport?

  8. Stuff stuff and More stuff

    January 25, 2018 at 2:40 am

    I feel like mazda is so underated compared to the other competitors. This car is so much better than a Honda or Toyota, my dad owns a mechanic shop and constantly gets newer hondas coming in (not many Toyotas though other than rav4s)

  9. Mr. Mazda

    January 25, 2018 at 4:15 am

    Great review – so comprehensive. Even some details here that I wasn't aware of. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Tim Dumoulin

    January 25, 2018 at 5:19 am

    got the 2018 hatch black…love it!!!

  11. D LG

    January 25, 2018 at 6:25 am

    I've owned a couple M3s over the years, a 2nd gen and a 3rd gen, and both were excellent cars with a very sporty character, for the class. The Skyactiv 2.5 is also an amazing engine that offers and excellent balance between performance and economy. I averaged 38 MPGs in mostly highway driving. My only complaints were the cheap feeling of interior materials and the terrible, buggy infotainment system. I like the interior design, but if Mazda wants to call itself a class above, they really need to eliminate the hard plastics and finally offer a more advanced infotainment system that supports Apple and Android. Otherwise, it is the best overall package in the compact segment, in my opinion.

  12. Farzana Yasin

    January 25, 2018 at 5:07 pm

    Please review Mazda CX 9

  13. Hater

    January 25, 2018 at 7:07 pm

    That’s a nice Mazda

  14. Sandy

    January 25, 2018 at 10:15 pm

    I bought a 2017 2.5L Touring HB /w 6 spd manual. All this car needs now is a good set of meats. I'm thinking: Firestone Indy 500 ($104-107 ea), Continental Contacts…Ditch the GAwful Dunlaps. IMHO, a set of good summers on this thing and it'll take to task some very expensive cars….I did this with my Corvette, and the transformation was nothing less than astounding.

  15. Kurt Pfeiffer

    January 26, 2018 at 2:26 am

    Well done, Matt. Looks like a sensible car for those looking for basic transportation with some zing!

  16. The Lone Wanderer

    January 26, 2018 at 3:00 am

    It’s really not a compact it’s a full sedan

  17. Michael Leggio

    January 26, 2018 at 5:31 pm

    Mazdas have by far the best looking cars for the price. Shame they haven't put a turbo in the 3 or a v6 in the 6. Once they put more power in these cars, they'll dominate the market

  18. jesus daniel Aquino

    January 27, 2018 at 1:40 am

    Why i need car play and android auto, i dont going to chat , take a picture etc. Only need my music thats all.

  19. Nando Mt

    January 28, 2018 at 12:37 am

    It looks just like the 2016,2017..

  20. Elon Yong Kim

    January 28, 2018 at 1:28 am

    The back space is not sufficient to most of buyers.

  21. Gopal R

    January 28, 2018 at 6:34 am

    I have a 2016 Mazda 3. At first I thought it lacked power, particularly from a full stop. Now that I'm used to it that doesn't bother me. It's a good all around daily driver that doesn't really have any one feature that's outstanding, but then again, nothing that's a nuisance either. Except maybe the lack of Android/Apple compatibility with the infotainment system.

  22. Emilio Pablo

    January 29, 2018 at 2:37 am

    If Mazda is kind enough to lend you a cx7 it would be a terrific car review, it looks so premium than a lot of other cars. Btw, liked the video 😊

  23. Joseph Cox

    January 29, 2018 at 6:34 pm

    Matt, would you prefer this type of Mazda 3 or the Hyundai Elantra Sport with the 1.6 turbo as a daily driver? I don’t think you have driven the ES yet…. curious what you think before hand. Also, please do a review of one!! Love your review style. Cheers

  24. Sebastian Ruiz

    January 29, 2018 at 7:24 pm

    Still without Android auto nor Apple carPlay

  25. cycloneyou

    January 30, 2018 at 7:45 pm

    2.5 engine is great and good pick up for passing, 2.0 engine feels slow for passing unless you put your foot into. The road noise is so bad I hope changing my tires out will help once there wear out. If you one a Mazda 3 get the 2.5 or you will be sad.

  26. WB Wayne

    January 30, 2018 at 10:09 pm

    I know you know much more than I do about all vehicles, but can't help but wonder at 3:28, what a TOCK ometer is. Lol

  27. WB Wayne

    January 30, 2018 at 10:22 pm

    Outstanding review. I would love to see you review the Mazda 6 and CX-5 also.

  28. zelikris

    January 31, 2018 at 4:08 am

    The engine sounds way too good for a 4 cylinder

  29. Passthedutch 9890

    January 31, 2018 at 5:37 am

    I didn't like it. Driving dynamics were top notch… But acceleration was mediocre, interior quality was also mediocre, and I didn't like the cramped interior. Shame, if the backseat was bigger and if the engine cranked out more power, I'd have bought it.

    Went with a Kia Forte instead. Laugh all you want, little turd hits 60 in 7 flat and tops at 135 before a limiter kicks in. 155k miles and not an issue.

    Shop around people. You'll be surprised what else is out there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top