Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Kia Rio 2018 | Complete Review | with Steve Hammes

Car Review

Kia Rio 2018 | Complete Review | with Steve Hammes



Kia Rio 2018 TestDriveNow Video Review by Auto Critic Steve Hammes.
Kia’s new 1-2 punch in the subcompact car segment is the 2018 Rio sedan and hatchback; a value proposition that’s all-new for 2018.

MSRP as-tested: $19,725

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. Billy Sou

    January 2, 2018 at 3:39 pm

    Happy New Year, Steve. And perhaps one of the best subcompacts in the biz with the Kia Rio is the first review of 2018.

  2. ast5515

    January 2, 2018 at 3:59 pm

    I only wish we had the 1.6 GDI in this car in Europe. I guess the 1.0 turbo we get instead is fine, but it's a damn 3 cylinder.

  3. Jacky Chong

    January 2, 2018 at 4:04 pm

    At 2:44 I believe you meant to say before you shop "used" not "new" lol

  4. pedro fernandez

    January 2, 2018 at 4:15 pm

    Happy new year, Steve. Won't you review the cheapest car avail in the US market, the Nissan Versa and compare it to this one?

  5. pedro fernandez

    January 2, 2018 at 4:17 pm

    While in the US, the Rio is not very popular, in the resto of the world, it is by far Kia's best seller. That is why they have to put a lot of effort in designing and engineering this little car. And there you have the results.

  6. Jonathan K

    January 2, 2018 at 6:10 pm

    I buy 2-3 year old cars just so the previous owner can take the depreciation hit. But this does seem like an excellent vehicle for the money!

  7. Blake Swan

    January 2, 2018 at 6:17 pm

    Not sure why this video is so short. This is a great little car. Would be amazing if they made an SX trim with a 1.6L turbo

  8. gsxellence

    January 2, 2018 at 7:15 pm

    I'm surprised Kia, didn't send you the Launch edition w/leather package. ( Sorry still like the out going SX model)

  9. Vlad Saghin

    January 2, 2018 at 8:10 pm

    US spec on the Rio is a joke. In Canada, you get standard heated seats and heated leather steering wheel, backup camera and bluetooth on the base model (16k$). The Ex gets LED lights front and rear, 17 inch rims, leather, push button access and start and UVO which lets you start the car (and many other things) via your smartphone

  10. Supperconductor

    January 2, 2018 at 11:27 pm

    IMO there's nothing "sexy" about sinking big bucks into depreciating assets. This could be our next new car if it proves to be reliable.

  11. KentB27

    January 2, 2018 at 11:58 pm

    0:28 "And lets face it, car tech is moving so fast, that even a 3 year old vehicle can feel ancient".

    Proceeds to whip out the switchblade key and stick it in the non push-button start ignition.

  12. canonlybeme4life

    January 3, 2018 at 1:35 am

    Hey Steve. Not sure why they didn't keep the SX trim of the previous model. They could have put a more powerful engine and independent rear suspension.

  13. Ray King

    January 3, 2018 at 2:23 am

    Good value for the money

  14. Andrew8126

    January 3, 2018 at 2:57 am

    I loves me some Kias more with every passing day. If I had to buy a lineup in its entirety, I’d go Kia without a doubt (I guess I’m on my way, with the Sorento and the Soul EV already in the garage).

    Thanks for another candid and thorough review. Here's hoping all your pressers have heated everything in the weeks to come!

  15. mtor92

    January 3, 2018 at 4:00 am

    So don't buy new..buy brand new. Got it. Thanks Steve! Hahaha

  16. Brad Haughton

    January 3, 2018 at 4:09 am

    They are decent cars but they need to ditch the halogen headlights I mean seriously LED headlights in them maybe for $300 or $500 extra

  17. Andrah Bell

    January 3, 2018 at 5:58 am

    Love the new review thanks for video how about elantra sport go kia/hyundai

  18. mx5hong

    January 3, 2018 at 7:02 am

    You're not the first ones to say how refined the way the new Rio drives. I recall that the Rio advanced into the next round in Car & Driver's annual Ten Best. And the Rio was one of the finalists in Motor Trend's Car of the Year. Wow.

    So, I'm sure you've reviewed the Honda Fit before (too lazy to look it up 🙂 ) . How would you compare the two in terms of refinement and overall driving enjoyment? I understand that the current Fit was criticized for NVH and tinny feel. But that issue was addressed for its recent refresh.

    Too bad Ford decided to just give up in this segment since they're not planning to offer the new Fiesta in the U.S. Sad!

  19. djkenny

    January 3, 2018 at 1:42 pm

    There was last year models for $10,800, I would stick with Base and wit for discounts on this generation. I can buy some prettt nice cars for 19k, like a well equipped Impreza.
    There is left over 17 Fortes for 12 grand, too. I’ve considered a manual base model since I could likely get it a bit under that OTD. Little more spacious, 2 liter, same economy.

  20. jpmackin

    January 6, 2018 at 8:52 pm

    Like it better than a comparably priced Prius, Steve?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top