Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Driven- 2019 Honda Insight Touring Car Review

Car Review

Driven- 2019 Honda Insight Touring Car Review



In 1999 the Honda Insight was an odd looking machine while the Toyota Prius was indistinguishable from an ordinary Japanese budget sedan. Now the roles have reversed. Tom Voelk reviews the third generation Insight and finds Honda has built a refined efficient hybrid with lots to like, and a quirk or two left in.

😃 SUBSCRIBE ►

TURN ON NOTIFICATIONS BY CLICKING THE “BELL” BUTTON AFTER SUBSCRIBING!

— FOLLOW TOM VOELK AND GET DRIVEN GEAR! —
MY SITE ►
TWITTER ►

— MORE CAR REVIEW VIDEOS! —
Porsche 911 Turbo S ➜
2012 Range Rover ➜
2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport ➜
2012 Audi A6 ➜
Dodge Challenger ➜
2017 Porsche 911 Turbo S ➜
2017 McLaren 570GT ➜
2016 Ferrari 488 GTB ➜
2016 Lamborghini Huracán LP 580-2 ➜
2017 Porsche 911 Carrera S Cabriolet ➜

About Tom:
Tom Voelk is an award-winning automotive contributor to The New York Times. His podcast was the first to win an Emmy Award. He also married way out of his league. Now, stop reading this promotional copy bragging about Tom’s photography and editing skills and watch a couple episodes. It’s much more interesting.

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

32 Comments

32 Comments

  1. Tom Terrific

    August 7, 2018 at 11:17 am

    The Accord Hybrid still seems the better choice.

  2. Peter Francis

    August 7, 2018 at 11:23 am

    Awesome. Thanks for yet another well produced and informative video.

  3. Right Lane Hog

    August 7, 2018 at 11:34 am

    Although we can debate whether the market needed one more CUV, one thing that is indisputable is the lousy rear headroom of yet another new 4 door sedan coming to market. A Camry Hybrid seems like a much better offering at a very similar price. Am I the only one who prefers a tried and true nickel battery for long term reliability?

  4. blitzbbffl

    August 7, 2018 at 11:35 am

    You get that classic CVT Sound without an actual CVT. Great!

  5. Tim Blaker

    August 7, 2018 at 12:22 pm

    Tom you spoke of this drivetrain in a cuv.Honda hinted at a hybrid CRV at one of the car shows.With that terrific mileage, or near it taking in account increased cd.That would get me into a Honda store.With your vast developed resources, do you know of this coming to market?

  6. Tj Pewter

    August 7, 2018 at 12:33 pm

    Can I cover for Martin sometime? Haha kidding aside, great review as always Tom! 👍🏻

  7. SS S

    August 7, 2018 at 2:06 pm

    Good looking vehicle.

  8. Marco B

    August 7, 2018 at 2:23 pm

    Three thoughts:
    1) Why Honda went with a fastback profile, without adding the utility of a fastback hatch, is beyond me
    2) The regen paddle quibble is annoying just to hear you talk about
    3) This is still a very nice small car and proof that automakers can hit aggressive MPG requirements without sacrificing much at all

  9. Peter Galbraith

    August 7, 2018 at 2:27 pm

    So, Insight Touring is more than $10k less than Accord Hybrid Touring? Seems like great value. Yes?

  10. Peter Galbraith

    August 7, 2018 at 2:28 pm

    So, Insight Touring is more than $10k less than Accord Hybrid Touring? Seems like great value. Yes?

  11. cadsux

    August 7, 2018 at 3:10 pm

    It's always good to have another non-related brother / buddy. But if you must be "twins," a mustache & baseball cap would help!

  12. cadsux

    August 7, 2018 at 3:13 pm

    The Insight has the best front fascia in the Honda lineup (a la Honda S660 roadster). Forget a CUV version. Wagon! The international version of the Odyssey (2008-2013) actually looked like a wagon version of the Gen 2 Insight, with optional 4WD.

  13. Ludovic Blain

    August 7, 2018 at 3:58 pm

    I love your reviews. And the front end on this is the best of any Honda sedan at least. lastly—glad you gave the shout out to Martin.

  14. S G

    August 7, 2018 at 5:28 pm

    You state you do not know why honda did not make this a suv…..the better question is why it is a sedan and not a hatchback as HBs have as much room inside as most suvs, are more fun to drive and get better mileage.

  15. willoverkill

    August 7, 2018 at 5:29 pm

    Thanks Martin! And good review Tom, I'm liking how normal the car looks for a hybrid, even if sedans are supposedly on their way out.

  16. R Mac

    August 7, 2018 at 5:56 pm

    Great review Tom

  17. R Mac

    August 7, 2018 at 6:02 pm

    Thank you Martin!

  18. Pacific Coast

    August 7, 2018 at 7:25 pm

    Love your reviews even when I dont like the cars! Great style, objective and informative without being nerdy. Keep 'em coming please!

  19. Acis

    August 7, 2018 at 10:06 pm

    Martin is cool. 😀

  20. Sean Jones

    August 8, 2018 at 12:18 am

    Martin, you rule! Thanks for helping to make these videos as good as they can be!

  21. Nicholas Gauthier

    August 8, 2018 at 12:34 am

    I take it that you’ll do a review of the 2019 VW Jetta SEL Premium at some point this year

  22. N2LADIES55

    August 8, 2018 at 1:45 am

    I want one.

  23. R Parry

    August 8, 2018 at 4:30 am

    I don’t like it.

  24. mistertee

    August 8, 2018 at 4:38 am

    This looks good and the interior is just right. Conservative but much more attractive than the Civic. I normally don't care for hybrids but I could see myself buying this just because it's a nice all-rounder sedan.

  25. PD Lynch

    August 8, 2018 at 5:32 am

    Thanks Martin!!

  26. Egan Fo

    August 8, 2018 at 6:06 am

    You and Martin make a solid team. How do those regen paddles compare to the Hyundai Ioniq's?

  27. kraenk12

    August 8, 2018 at 2:29 pm

    Best looking Hybrid on the market. They should sell it in Europe. Why is the Civic so ugly when Accord and Insight are great looking?

  28. GrimX

    August 8, 2018 at 3:14 pm

    Tom when can you review the Tesla model 3?

  29. Cyril Gomez

    August 8, 2018 at 5:27 pm

    i really like the reviewer…hi Tom…

  30. CurbsideUnderwood

    August 8, 2018 at 6:59 pm

    So a poorly thought-out regen system, and a 1980s back seat, yay…. Overall I say it is a sincerely refined looking car, but not very well executed. Just my opinion. As always, excellent video Tom! Also how do I send Martin money?

  31. shopwithaaron

    August 9, 2018 at 2:40 am

    Great team!! Thanks Martin….BTW got the 2017 Optima SXL and loving it!! Titanium metallic exterior and Aubergine nappa inside! Thanks for that review too!

  32. AreyouMadbro Chan

    August 9, 2018 at 9:02 am

    can you please do the 18 honda accord hybrid review?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top