Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2019 Lexus ES 350 First Drive Review

Car Review

2019 Lexus ES 350 First Drive Review



Back in 1989, the Lexus ES launched the Lexus brand alongside the LS flagship. Unlike the LS or the GS and IS that launched later, the ES has always been a different kind of luxury car. Instead of trying to compete with the German options head-on (as Lexus does with the IS, GS and LS) the ES was targeted at shoppers looking for a little more room, high reliability and a more reasonable price tag than the Europeans could offer. That formula is exactly what we see in this seventh generation ES. It should be around the price of a 330i with more interior room than a 530i, it’s more efficient than a Volvo hybrid and likely more reliable than all of the above. What it won’t do however is corner carve like a 330i.

More videos:
Best cars in 2016:
Upcoming reviews:
AOA on Facebook:

The Mountain Garden:

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Eng. Abdulaziz Al-Shareedah

    June 7, 2018 at 11:16 pm

    Alex bro, you're the best car reviewer, really appreciate your work

    Really like the detailed overview that you do on the cars,
    As I'm planning to buy a car by the end of this year, I would like to request from you to do a detailed comparison between the 2019 Lexus ES 350 and the 2019 Kia K900 as they will probably have similar prices or at least close to each other. (when you get them)

    Lexus will have better reliability, better resale value, and gas mileage over the Kia
    but I don't like the infotainment system as a whole from the touch-pad and their navigation…etc….. nor the lack of Andriod Auto, or the small buttons for the stereo.

    Kia has more tech stuff and should have a better price as well it is bigger size…. so I'm lost… the only thing that bothered me about the kia is the new look (the front is ugly but hope they will improve it a bit for the American market)

    so is there other things that can take me from one to the other?…..drivability and handling? noise? cool tech?
    many thanks

  2. Baasil F.

    June 7, 2018 at 11:40 pm

    I was thinking that this would replace the GS, but since this new ES doesn't have AWD & only has 302 hp, I think the GS might be getting an all new generation for 2019. Lexus prolly didn't put AWD on the ES because they were saving it for the new GS

  3. Munditimum Mosu

    June 8, 2018 at 12:07 am

    Great review Alex. Beautiful car. I would however make a note here and say that Buick places the Lacrosse as the main competitor of the ES and not the Regal. Cheers.

  4. Henry Bauer

    June 8, 2018 at 12:23 am

    0-60 in 6.5s? Shoulda put a turbo-4 in this pig…. this 3.5L has no torque

  5. LEXUriouS Kirk

    June 8, 2018 at 12:42 am

    I can't wait to drive and sell these when they come out this late summer. It's such an attractive option in the segment which should help me grow as a new Lexus sales consultant

  6. ai zheng

    June 8, 2018 at 12:45 am

    How about compare the size to the Camry and Avalon???

  7. Blake Swan

    June 8, 2018 at 12:54 am

    Avalon with a worse interface. FWD is never luxury. Eww and pass. The Town Car redux. E an all the cars in the luxury competition are RWD or AWD standard.

  8. Nexus Hexus

    June 8, 2018 at 12:58 am

    That front end is FUGLY!

  9. Nexus Hexus

    June 8, 2018 at 1:02 am

    Boring, they really need to do AWD ASAP.

  10. Blake Swan

    June 8, 2018 at 1:05 am

    Love it. Lexus here's the customers wants of an AWD option but they know it would require them to actually make this car decent so no. Thanks for your concerns but we know you will buy this anyways because Toyota

  11. Ken Kozawa

    June 8, 2018 at 2:20 am

    Alex, I think you meant Giulia @ 19:12 πŸ˜‰

  12. Dada

    June 8, 2018 at 2:55 am

    So the 2017 Genesis G80 has an incredibly quiet cabin, that is my gold standard for a quiet cabin. Is the 2019 ES louder or just as quiet as the G80?

  13. G

    June 8, 2018 at 4:20 am

    i think the 2018 camry is just as handsome

  14. HodsBroo

    June 8, 2018 at 6:43 am

    Gorgeous, best in mid size class

  15. HodsBroo

    June 8, 2018 at 6:43 am

    It's not compact, it's mid size…

  16. Javielito Evans

    June 8, 2018 at 8:17 am

    yes no logo 😊

  17. Love You

    June 8, 2018 at 8:40 am

    I know es is not trying to compete with e class or 5 series, but how does it handle compared to those rwd/awd vehicles?

  18. Junior Lexus

    June 8, 2018 at 1:27 pm

    Japanese cars age like fine wineπŸ₯‚ while German cars age like milkπŸ₯› with a early experation date!!

    Ps…German cars depreciate much faster than a Lexus because out of warranty nobody wants to deal with a German cars electrical problems much less other things.πŸ”§πŸ”§πŸ”©πŸ”©πŸ’΅πŸ’°πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‡―πŸ‡²

  19. Carpediem06

    June 8, 2018 at 4:48 pm

    Why was this compared to the C and 3 series; is that the the Lexus IS competiton; I thought the ES was a E class and 5 series competitor, and LS the 7 series and S class πŸ™‚

  20. Mua Lan

    June 8, 2018 at 4:54 pm

    The car is lexus but the engine is camry. The price is way over $50k. Sorry, not my taste.

  21. 1betterthanyou1

    June 8, 2018 at 6:02 pm

    This dude looks like he’s 14, 24 and 44 all at the same time.

  22. TJ

    June 9, 2018 at 1:27 am

    Alex on Autos = Best reviews on cars, period.

  23. David Kay

    June 9, 2018 at 1:50 am

    A very important thing that Mat Watson pointed out in the Carwow review of this car – the lane keep system is terrible. It will warn you to put your hands back on the wheel if you aren't holding it, and if you don't respond, it will simply shut off and allow the car to crash if say you've fallen asleep. The EU cars will try several methods to wake you up, and then brake themselves to a stop within the lane to try and keep you safe if you don't respond.

  24. Dmitri B

    June 9, 2018 at 4:22 am

    Not very different from a Camry

  25. Christos Dimou

    June 9, 2018 at 6:07 am

    Is there an AISIN automatic under the hood of a BMW and not a ZF automatic?

  26. Tchii's Piano School of Music - pnoens

    June 9, 2018 at 7:54 am

    I have really been enjoying your comprehensive introductions and analysis on new vehicles, Alex! Keep it up! Thank you so much!!!
    Kent

  27. Sir- Crocodile

    June 9, 2018 at 8:57 am

    We need review for UX Lexus 2019 πŸ‘β€οΈ

  28. liteand fluffy

    June 9, 2018 at 9:47 am

    Very nice overall but no Android auto?? You get it standard on a 15 grand Kia for crying out loud!

  29. KingRANC30

    June 10, 2018 at 3:31 am

    Yuck!

  30. Trades46

    June 10, 2018 at 1:18 pm

    The looks are great, but not so interesting is the Camry/Avalon powertrain transplant. After hearing that Lexus is axing the GS & moving the ES upmarket, I was hoping that AWD would at least be available. As for now, I still think the Acura TLX or RLX gets my nod for now.

  31. Shankhadeep Shome

    June 10, 2018 at 6:52 pm

    Lol how many buttons do you need on a steering wheel, dinosaur design.

  32. HALWG51

    June 10, 2018 at 9:12 pm

    Basically a Toyota Avalon.

  33. Bong Lim

    June 12, 2018 at 7:16 am

    Seemingly beautiful inside & out An AWD option would be nice

  34. Liger King

    June 13, 2018 at 12:47 am

    Thank you Toyota-Lexus for adamantly keeping the V6 engine. This decision has definitely set the Toyota-Lexus brand apart from the competition who are all favoring the stupid 4-cylinder turbo engine and doing away with their V6 engines; Nissan has joined the stupid bandwagon and has lost all respect from me. No matter how fast the artificial force turbo makes your engines, one annoying thing you cannot get rid of is the irritating 4-cylinder noise of the 4-cylinder engine. Oh my God, that noise drives me insane! If you must go turbo, just make sure to keep your 6.

    I drove the 4-cylinder Camry. It has excellent fuel economy and packs up a lot of speed. However, the 4-cylinder initial lag and engine growl is a joy killer. For that reason, I will NEVER buy a 4-cylinder engine. I'd rather jump up to 8-cylinder than deal with the irritating engine sounds of 4-cylinder. Fuel economy my foot!! Don't get me wrong; there's nothing wrong with 4-cylinder engine as long as it doesn't replace the 6.

    You'd lose loyal customers like me the day you do away with the V6 engine and replace it with 4-cylinder turbo, Toyota-Lexus. Keep the V6 spirit on and you'll never lose loyal customers like me. Good job so far!!!

  35. LifeISMagix

    June 13, 2018 at 1:10 am

    AWD comes with GS. If ES would have AWD, the GS sedan would go extinct. And the GS is a 100% Japan made vehicle whereas the ES is American made. Big difference. ES needs to stay FWD

  36. Joshua Wiggins

    June 13, 2018 at 11:02 pm

    Is this vehicle competition to the Alfa Romeo Stelvio (which is an SUV)as you mentioned 19:09, or the Giulia (which is a sport sedan)?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top