Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 Review | First Drive | Edmunds

Car News

2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 Review | First Drive | Edmunds



Edmunds Senior Writer Carlos Lago reviews the 2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1. With 755 horsepower, 715 pound-feet of torque, and a 212 mph top speed, the ZR1 delivers supercar performance. But is its radically powerful V8 too much to handle? Watch as we drive this mega-powerful Corvette around the track at Road Atlanta to find out.

Q: What kind of engine and transmission does the 2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 have?
A: The Corvette ZR1 has a supercharged 6.2-liter V8 that makes 755 horsepower and 715 lb-ft of torque. A seven-speed manual is standard, and an eight-speed automatic is optional.

Q: How much does the 2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 cost?
A: The Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 starts at $123,820, including destination fees and a gas guzzler tax. The convertible variant asks $127,820. The Track Performance package costs $2,995, and it includes a tall and adjustable wing, racetrack-oriented summer tires, and revised suspension tuning.

Q: How fast is the 2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1?
A: Chevrolet says the Corvette ZR1 will do 0-60 mph in 2.9 seconds, pass the quarter-mile in 10.6 seconds at 134 mph, and reach a top speed of 212 mph. The downforce from the Track Performance package reduces the top speed to 202 mph. The convertible tops out at 208 mph.

Q: What are the 2019 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1’s main competitors?
A: Few automakers produce extreme racetrack-oriented performance cars that are influenced by their motorsports endeavors. Fewer still equal the Corvette’s performance-per-dollar ratio. The Ford GT is another domestic supercar with a real endurance-racing pedigree, but it’s long sold-out. The Porsche 911 GT2 RS bears similar motorsports influence, but it costs over two times as much.

Read our First Drive here:

Edmunds – we help you find your perfect car with unbiased and useful reviews, advice, pricing and tools. Visit us at

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

43 Comments

43 Comments

  1. trinistylz2002

    April 25, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    Curious to see the Nurburring (destroyed this spelling) aka Green Mile time is!

  2. John Smith

    April 25, 2018 at 3:12 pm

    No interior review…..Guess i know what that means.

  3. breathe and squeeze

    April 25, 2018 at 3:13 pm

    it just needs the new Camaro grill. jk.

  4. Dax Stevens

    April 25, 2018 at 3:50 pm

    What we've learned from this video: Carlos is awesome.
    Oh and cool Corvette I guess

  5. Moflyboy Blanquito

    April 25, 2018 at 4:06 pm

    I want that 😯

  6. Just 4Fun

    April 25, 2018 at 4:33 pm

    I have missed the reviews from Carlos Lago. This one did not disappoint. I am sure we will be seeing many more in the future.

  7. itsMike

    April 25, 2018 at 4:56 pm

    Like last C6 ZR1 in 6 to 8 months, it will be 20k off asking price, GM never limits production they will build as many as they can sell, and likely over produce a few

  8. Agron Dika

    April 25, 2018 at 7:08 pm

    Did Ben affleck change careers?

  9. Dilly Dilly

    April 25, 2018 at 9:33 pm

    Roger Dean I Salute👍

  10. Shock

    April 25, 2018 at 10:40 pm

    chevy needs to lose all those black vents they've been plaguing the car with the past few years in favor of a clean design..looks too unnecessarily busy!

  11. Edward Chang

    April 25, 2018 at 10:50 pm

    I want to see Carlos do a review video for Edmunds, then switch to Motor Trend and do one for the same car in the same year. LOL

  12. Ragingbull340

    April 25, 2018 at 11:53 pm

    That automatic just doesn't seem right in a ZR1.

  13. Bobby Wisdom

    April 25, 2018 at 11:57 pm

    how's the suspension stiffness on side streets?

  14. steng2495

    April 25, 2018 at 11:59 pm

    What's with the color of the video? Did someone turn the brightness up to high? I miss the Carlos Lago on Motortrend. The videos were crispy. Looks like the crew isn't up to snuff at Edmunds compared to Motortrend.

  15. Michael Beard

    April 26, 2018 at 12:05 am

    AMAZING CAR THE ZR1 IS KING……. BEST PRICE FOR THE POWER

  16. Paul C

    April 26, 2018 at 12:42 am

    Daddy ZO6 and mommy Honda Civic Type R had a baby and baby looks mostly like daddy but has moms strange nose.

  17. Arman Elahi

    April 26, 2018 at 1:57 am

    BEST CAR GUY EVER

  18. Peter

    April 26, 2018 at 2:29 am

    45 mustang owners disliked 👎🏻

  19. Andres Luzunaris

    April 26, 2018 at 3:22 am

    I have to be honest… After Carlos left MT, I didn't last long there as a subscriber. You are very miss Mr. Lago.

  20. Jose Lopez

    April 26, 2018 at 3:29 am

    Carlos is my dude followed him from motortrend started watching him back in 2012 or so

  21. mrk107

    April 26, 2018 at 3:38 am

    Ken and Barbie have come along way!

  22. Mike Secondo

    April 26, 2018 at 3:42 am

    Nice!!!!!I will have to stay with my 2007 for at least the next 4 years….and then maybe still won't afford a 2019

  23. C

    April 26, 2018 at 3:48 am

    He's back doing reviews!!! Thank god!

  24. Landon Poindexter

    April 26, 2018 at 3:59 am

    Dodge finely made y’all do something about damn time !

  25. John D

    April 26, 2018 at 4:05 am

    Great review.

  26. Mike Brink

    April 26, 2018 at 4:49 am

    What happened to the mid engine corvette that was supposed to come out ?

  27. DucFanDan

    April 26, 2018 at 5:30 am

    I wonder what the experienced race car guys think of it. Think about it… this Street-legal car makes more power than the C7.R GTLM spec car.

    The balanced engineering is impressive. That’s one of the things that put GM’s performance cars so far beyond the “appeal” of the Hellcat… it’s one thing to stuff 700+ HP into a pig and make it go fast on a dragstrip. It’s a whole greater challenge to make a car like this that’s properly balanced and integrated, that carves up road race tracks with cars that are twice (or more) this price. The fact you can also dial back the Mag ride shocks and dial down the volume from the exhaust, that you can put miles on this car and not beat yourself up, is further testament to the level of engineering talent that was unleashed on this car.

    Prior to this, I’d have rather had a Grand Sport than a Z06. But the balance and approachability of this car has me rethinking… of course, I’d have to convince wifey that we can trade in the 4-door, LS3-powered “Corvette” that hauls kiddo around, my SS sedan. 😉 With an LS3, Tremec 6-speed, magnetorheological shocks off the ‘Vette, and dual-mode exhaust, it goes from mountain road fun to comfortable family hauler with 2 clicks of the mode wheel. We rack up miles in comfort on road trips, and I can have fun on weekends blasting windy back roads. It’ll never be as fast or hardcore as a real Corvette, but it provides a pretty good taste in a more flexible package. So yeah… when wifey says I can trade that for a Grand Sport or a ZR1, then I’ll really have to decide between the two. Decisions, decisions…

  28. CMO

    April 26, 2018 at 5:55 am

    Love the car but he sounds like hes reading from a cue card lol.

  29. brtnspn

    April 26, 2018 at 6:08 am

    3:41 RIP headphone users. What the hell.

  30. Dewey Brown

    April 26, 2018 at 10:36 am

    Great Review!

  31. Paul Letchworth

    April 26, 2018 at 12:34 pm

    I love the color of this car best so far with the wheels, awesome ride great review!!!!

  32. InabilityToBeBrief

    April 26, 2018 at 1:19 pm

    Wow, huge negative camber on those front wheels for a street car! That had to be for the track test right? Too flashy for driving around for me, but a beautiful car. Nice Ferrari wheels BTW. (Corvette engineers love Ferraris)

  33. FalconXE302

    April 26, 2018 at 1:31 pm

    What a pussy… using auto gear change.

  34. Michael Roy

    April 26, 2018 at 3:03 pm

    Who's your Daddy ?? OMG

  35. Frankie Boots

    April 26, 2018 at 3:19 pm

    and auto tho?….

  36. curtis madison

    April 26, 2018 at 4:06 pm

    I like the zr1 and all……but it's design has to much going on….one color and sleek would have been nice

  37. sammy 20

    April 26, 2018 at 4:08 pm

    American beauty

  38. Anytime

    April 26, 2018 at 9:54 pm

    My little brothers tuned Acura type R does a 10 second 1/4 mile. just saying

  39. Dave NC

    April 26, 2018 at 10:32 pm

    Automatic transmission. Ugh.

  40. stoneeh

    April 26, 2018 at 10:45 pm

    Props for the silent exhaust mode that actually makes the exhaust silent, and for the manual gearbox option. Other than that, fuck off, get that ugly clunky thing out of my sight, and give me a Porsche!

  41. Rob Kolt

    April 26, 2018 at 11:51 pm

    I very much prefer this color over that ugly orange you can see the lines alot better imo!!

  42. J O

    April 27, 2018 at 12:01 am

    3:41 …ahhh, the best 'middle finger' you could ever give to a pretentious Tesla owner. 😀

  43. Rob Lowery

    April 27, 2018 at 12:05 am

    I hate that ugly wing…. otherwise I love it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car News

To Top