Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2018 VW Passat GT Review – Not Quite A GTI

Car Review

2018 VW Passat GT Review – Not Quite A GTI



We go for a drive in the 2018 VW Passat GT.

Support us on Patreon:
Sponsor us on YouTube!
Subscribe!
Facebook!

Buy our shirts! Profits go directly to burnouts:

Add us on Instagram @TheStraightPipes

Our reviews give you two perspectives. Jakub takes the perspective of the car enthusiast, while Yuri represents the interests of the general consumer. You won’t find details about engine compression ratios here, instead you’ll have real world opinions on what it’s like to drive and own cars.

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

35 Comments

35 Comments

  1. Andrew G.

    July 13, 2018 at 1:07 am

    It's essentially a GLI.

  2. Rafael Rubio

    July 13, 2018 at 1:08 am

    Camry XSE V6 all day. Thank you for finally giving us Americans $ USD! Keep it up!

  3. Gautham Ag

    July 13, 2018 at 2:26 am

    Kia Optima sxl turbo

  4. Giang Nguyen

    July 13, 2018 at 3:40 am

    Hey TheStraightPipes, Can you guys review an Audi RS3? THX dudes

  5. Mr17riddog

    July 13, 2018 at 3:46 am

    Can you please do a reveiw on the 2018 equinox my grandparents are thinking of buying it and i would love to know everything about it before they buy it.

  6. Andre Goncalves

    July 13, 2018 at 3:54 am

    Thanks for the video. How about some tips and tricks for cars? Are you guys also reviewing the 2019 Toyota Corolla hatchback? (Not the iM)

  7. bb2status

    July 13, 2018 at 4:05 am

    Accord 2.0t easily. But i have a 09 Accord 271hp V6, sliding visors and sliding center console/armrest and all love it!!

  8. John

    July 13, 2018 at 5:27 am

    I'm a Volkswagen owner and I'm taking the Honda Accord 2.0T Sport all day over this. I do like the vr6 though and it sounds A1

  9. Indy Dodwal

    July 13, 2018 at 5:41 am

    God bless the EU passat. what is this…

  10. Benjamin Francis

    July 13, 2018 at 5:48 am

    The design of this car is so, SO dull. Inside and out. There's nothing of interest. It's like a Camry from a decade ago but with none of the reliability.

  11. Brandon L

    July 13, 2018 at 5:55 am

    To complain about the Passat not being fast is a little silly. It's a comfortable, efficient highway commuter. Just purchased the R-Line that you all complained about. Brand new, with 70 miles, 6/72,000 warranty fully loaded for $21k out the door. 37MPG highway, sound system in it is great, and drives very solid and comfortable on the highway.

    I will get a weekend car, or just trade this in a couple years from now when my commute isn't 150 miles round trip. At that point I'd be in the market for the S3/S4. But the Passat is solid. 🙂

  12. NARUdaARC

    July 13, 2018 at 6:26 am

    IMO the Euro version is much better looking; exterior and interior wise

  13. ElectronikReviews

    July 13, 2018 at 6:58 am

    Accord all day but the competition is strong!

  14. Oscar Amador

    July 13, 2018 at 7:26 am

    I've been trying to buy a new car, particularly a VW since my first car was a b5.5 passat, it was a medium trim but it had premium sound system, sunroof, projector style headlights and projector fog lights, newer models come less equipped I mean, If I want to get fog lights and a nice sound system I'd have to choose a SEL and I can't quite afford that, and you can't get projector headlights on any trim I mean for me that's mostly a necessity due to the better light output you get at night, I know VW downgraded the passats to compete in the price range of other sedans so I have to look at other options like a mazda 6 but that engine feels quite weak being naturally aspirated.

  15. Diwakar Chopra

    July 13, 2018 at 8:26 am

    do the new m5!

  16. Alex Martin

    July 13, 2018 at 8:53 am

    Thiss

  17. Haja

    July 13, 2018 at 8:54 am

    actually, you pronouce it folkswagen

  18. don198769

    July 13, 2018 at 8:59 am

    It doesn't look like they've fixed the position of the steering wheel with the seat and pedals? As a guy with a horribly bad back, the seating position sucks.

  19. Haja

    July 13, 2018 at 9:02 am

    it's like Golf VI gauge cluster and infotainment and that thing came out in 2009. the new passat in europe looks totally different. It feels a bit like the old models they continue to build for Asian and south american markets for money saving reasons, but that said, I am jealous about the good old VR6, which you can boost to over 500hp with bolt ons.

  20. Sentyaki Sosronegoro

    July 13, 2018 at 9:36 am

    Next?? VW Arteon please!
    😀

  21. Andrew Jenkinson

    July 13, 2018 at 9:52 am

    Wow I didn't realise vw still made the VR6.

  22. Archman.E

    July 13, 2018 at 11:15 am

    audi s5 sportback review plz ?

  23. Sting ER

    July 13, 2018 at 11:19 am

    usa version passat is soo cheap inside it's almost same as the jetta come on vw wtf is this

  24. Amin Haq

    July 13, 2018 at 2:32 pm

    Yes they do need to make a GTI passat model.

  25. Nnn Vvv

    July 13, 2018 at 2:58 pm

    European model is beter

  26. Stan G

    July 13, 2018 at 3:39 pm

    I love my 2017 passat R line with led lights i paid $15k, looks the same as GT and is quick enough around town.

  27. britshell

    July 13, 2018 at 6:20 pm

    It seems Volkswagen will slap the GTx or R branding on anything these days.

  28. britshell

    July 13, 2018 at 6:32 pm

    for that price I get myself a base Golf R or min teir GTI.

  29. Antilaakeri

    July 13, 2018 at 7:14 pm

    Looks AWFUL

  30. NaturalBornKilla

    July 13, 2018 at 8:49 pm

    It looks so dated compared to the european version 😱😱

  31. miki8975

    July 13, 2018 at 9:08 pm

    2010 model passat wtf or USA didnt get a new one

  32. Rasmus Almlund

    July 13, 2018 at 10:20 pm

    What in the world is that thing? Why do they make different Passats for Europe and North America?
    This thing looks so cheap and tacky with weird body lines and lights. A shame you don't get the real Passat in North America – that car is great!

  33. Jay

    July 13, 2018 at 10:26 pm

    You guys are so.funny! subbed.
    Also, this car is awesome

  34. SuperMrBentley

    July 14, 2018 at 12:14 am

    Stop saying uolkswuagen.

  35. juddadam2

    July 14, 2018 at 12:58 am

    One should wear a straight pipes T-shirt, the other could be a paid sponsor T-shirt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top