Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2018 Volkswagen Arteon review

Car Review

2018 Volkswagen Arteon review



Remember the Volkswagen Phaeton? While it never came to Australia, it became globally renowned for being somewhat of an over-engineered (Bentley-based) oddball.

The people’s limousine, as it were, was produced for 15 years, but the Bentley-based model missed sales targets, flopped early in the crucial US market, was reportedly one of Europe’s biggest loss-makers, and failed to transform VW’s brand image as hoped.

The Volkswagen Arteon is nowhere near as ambitious. Yet this replacement for the CC four-door ‘coupe’ has similar aspirations as a brand-booster – and a model also attempting to persuade buyers away from an Audi, BMW or Mercedes-Benz.

It starts with the most inspirational piece of exterior design we’ve seen from Volkswagen for a long time.

– Read the article here.

————————————————————-

CarAdvice.com is where Australians turn to for the most comprehensive independent reviews of new cars.

Our videos are created by expert and unbiased journalists who are passionate about their work. We have fun making these videos and we hope you enjoy them too.

We welcome the opportunity to answer your questions and encourage discussion. Don’t hesitate to ask us a question in the comments section.

Subscribe to CarAdvice for your regular fix of automotive news, reviews and entertainment.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL HERE

CONNECT WITH US



JOIN OUR EMAIL NEWSLETTER
Get the latest news, reviews and videos fast-tracked to your inbox by registering for ‘The Shortcut’ here:

– Read the article here.

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. Glenn's Quality Cars

    January 17, 2018 at 1:36 pm

    Excellent review, thank you.

  2. Mmm De

    January 21, 2018 at 11:27 pm

    70Grant for a 2.0litre turbo producing 202kw highly overpriced too much of electronics makes it as a lemon car

  3. Ian Treloar

    January 21, 2018 at 11:38 pm

    Good review; thank you. I see that the rear seat squab doesn't extend out enough to fully support the thighs. Okay for kids, not so much for adults.

  4. Aalok Galappatti

    January 21, 2018 at 11:56 pm

    Who would cross shop this with a CLA??? :

  5. King Kowen

    January 22, 2018 at 12:02 am

    Saw one the other week in black before I knew the Arteon existed, instantly loved the look. I like the Mercedes looking rear and those turbine wheels look great. Great review guys. Though still waiting for any Detroit Auto Show vids.

  6. Benzinio

    January 22, 2018 at 12:16 am

    Instead new Phaeton they made a damn overpriced Golf – no thank you!

  7. Rj

    January 22, 2018 at 12:48 am

    Great exterior, but they failed in the interior. Really disappointing from the company that made the pheaton. They should really bring the interior up to par with the exterior and upgrade the hp to 400hp+

  8. Jeff Keith

    January 22, 2018 at 1:17 am

    $70K? Good luck. It's still a VW.
    Good informative review, thanks.

  9. tokekkk

    January 22, 2018 at 2:13 am

    Poor man's Audi A7

  10. tsint

    January 22, 2018 at 6:33 am

    Why so you have so small front plates?

  11. KH AK

    January 22, 2018 at 1:39 pm

    Who's going to say I don't want a BMW, MERCEDES
    , AUDI etc .. But want a 70K VW.

  12. Marcel Tansie

    January 22, 2018 at 2:44 pm

    It’s going to have a 3.5l vr6 engine producing over 400bph very soon

  13. Adam K

    January 22, 2018 at 3:16 pm

    When you get inside that car you can feel the power of plastic. I swear it feels like you're in a Kia or whatever that costs 1/3rd of Arteon's price. Oh and that HUD can be found on a 10 000$ Mazda 2 lol.

  14. Francisco Figueroa

    January 22, 2018 at 9:02 pm

    Car looks good, Specialy for the young guys.

  15. Kevin Barrett

    January 22, 2018 at 9:41 pm

    It will sell as well as the Phaeton.

  16. Jany Rodriguez

    January 23, 2018 at 4:09 am

    That head up display is crap

  17. rabit818

    January 23, 2018 at 4:44 am

    Kia Stinger vs VW Arteon?

  18. Global Triathlon Network

    January 23, 2018 at 5:44 am

    Design stolen from a Tesla

  19. YX Yang

    January 23, 2018 at 6:07 am

    That fake ass head up display is a deal breaker.

  20. Haris Najeeb

    January 23, 2018 at 6:13 am

    I fucking love the Arteon. I wish VW and Ford came to Pakistan and destroy the monopoly of car manufacturers

  21. Josh

    January 23, 2018 at 10:48 am

    What about sound proof? The B8 Passat suffered from a lot of wind and whistle beyond 170km/h

  22. NZsarge1

    January 23, 2018 at 11:02 am

    I like it, we had a V6 Passat CC and a high spec V6 Passat before that and the CC was definitely the nicer car but so it should’ve been too. I realistically don’t think it bridges the gap to Audi/Mercedes/BMW etc but neither does the price, I think your there or there abouts getting what you paid for. The rumoured high out V6 coming in the future might be a particularly interesting car, just a pity they didn’t do more to differentiate the interior from a Passat at least to look at.

  23. AD M

    January 23, 2018 at 12:30 pm

    Overpriced for what it is

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top