Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2018 Lexus RC F Review | Edmunds

Car Review

2018 Lexus RC F Review | Edmunds



Edmunds Senior Writer Carlos Lago tests and reviews the 2018 Lexus RC F. Because this luxury performance-oriented coupe has been around for some time now, we already know that it’s heavier than its competition and not as quick around a racetrack. But does that matter? To find out, we look at what the RC F gets right by delving into its interior and driving it at our test facility.

Q: What kind of engine and transmission does the 2018 Lexus RC F have?
A: The 2018 Lexus RC F has a 5.0-liter V8 and an eight-speed automatic transmission.

Q: How much does the 2018 Lexus RC F cost?
A: The 2018 Lexus RC F starts at $65,645, including destination. The vehicle tested in this video has a few options, including a performance package that adds the torque vectoring differential, that bring the price to $80,070.

Q: How fast is the 2018 Lexus RC F?
A: During testing, the 2018 Lexus RC F reached 60 mph in 4.9 seconds (4.6 seconds with a 1-foot rollout, as on a drag strip) and clocked a quarter-mile time of 13.2 seconds at 108.4 mph.

Q: What are the 2018 Lexus RC F’s main competitors?
A: There are a number of performance-oriented luxury coupes out there, but the closest in terms of size, price and intent are the Audi RS 5, the BMW M4 and the Mercedes-AMG C 63 S Coupe. Each enjoys different advantages over the Lexus, but none are available with a naturally aspirated (non-turbo) V8 engine.

Read our review here:

Edmunds – we help you find your perfect car with unbiased and useful reviews, advice, pricing and tools. Visit us at

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

31 Comments

31 Comments

  1. Al Denino

    June 11, 2018 at 6:21 am

    Fucking finally Carlos

  2. Onoff314

    June 11, 2018 at 6:37 am

    Looks great IMO.
    No one will ever take this to the track so it isn't really of any importance

  3. BigHeadClan

    June 11, 2018 at 7:03 am

    Honestly if Lexus managed to cut 300-400lbs out of this things it would probably lead the class, they could also update the engine drop it to a 4.0-4.2L but give it turbos
    to supplement the power but shes just so porky.

    Sadly it looks like they won't be making any changes for another 2-3 years or so, which is when most of the competition will be refreshing their cars.

    Edit: Also please let whoever is reviewing the car to take it on track and some normal roads/canyons, we don't all live at a track so a review that only has a track focus is a bit
    one dimensional.

  4. Dylan Wells

    June 11, 2018 at 10:36 am

    This was an awesome review! With the new LS and LC 500 out and the new ES coming out soon, I can’t wait to see some of the LS’s design cues makes its way into the RC F. This has always been one of my favorite cars but I feel it’s behind the competition in terms of its interior design and infotainment. I would like to see Lexus update this car in the near future but I’m worried it might lose its naturally aspirated V8 due to ecological requirements.

  5. Khalfani Adair

    June 11, 2018 at 1:34 pm

    Slower than the competition, handles worse than the competition, but it sounds…better than the competition? LoL nah #mdriver

  6. Roger Mahajan

    June 11, 2018 at 1:51 pm

    I have an RCF with carbon/TVD package and had it for 10 months. It is an incredible car and pure joy to drive. I always look forward to the weekends when I get to take it out.

  7. Norm T

    June 11, 2018 at 2:02 pm

    Always used in comparison on Car & Driver in their In-Depth look metrics and is always last place. Lexus needs to step up their game against the competition.

  8. I Finn

    June 11, 2018 at 2:41 pm

    What about the recall for the gas pump fuel line? Along with the GS-F and LC500.?

  9. Jdor D

    June 11, 2018 at 2:48 pm

    Great vid again, I always wondered about the driving experience of this car, now I do! "Yeshua / Jesus is the way "

  10. dan hug hes

    June 11, 2018 at 3:00 pm

    Not happy about how it looks. What!!! I'm a ISF owner it looks great

  11. Eric Huh

    June 11, 2018 at 3:05 pm

    Thanks Andrew Reynolds. You helped me decide my next car!

  12. SS S

    June 11, 2018 at 3:08 pm

    The only real benefit of performance Lexus cars is you get an experience close to 80-90% of an M3 or C63 AMG but it will be much more reliable and slight cheaper to repair and maintain.

  13. bk love

    June 11, 2018 at 3:35 pm

    sporty ,luxurious and reliable from Lexus.

  14. Carroll

    June 11, 2018 at 3:52 pm

    This is not a Race Car, it's a bunch of parts poser..

  15. HodsBroo

    June 11, 2018 at 6:09 pm

    I would pick this among it's class hands down. The C63 would be my second go to.

  16. Toyota4Life

    June 11, 2018 at 6:24 pm

    Love this BEAST.

    Looks mean sounds mean. Such a unique car in a very copy cat car market.

  17. Charles Friscia

    June 11, 2018 at 8:10 pm

    Im finishing up my 3 yr lease.. The Audi RS5 and RC-F should be in a class alone.. Both concentrated on more luxury than speed and are plenty quick.. The M4 is all about speed and less about luxury when it's not in the shop getting fixed

  18. Max Troy

    June 11, 2018 at 9:47 pm

    Brilliant review Carlos. You tell it as it is. 99.9% of drivers don't live on the Nürburgring so the difference in performance figures is hardly noticeable in everyday driving. The luxury and reliability and the sound however, will be noticeable every day of the car's life.

  19. Nam Le

    June 11, 2018 at 9:49 pm

    Electric rwd torque vectoring who else can say that. Atkinson tech

  20. KLRGT500KR

    June 12, 2018 at 12:23 am

    The tire issue Carlos is mentioning, is easily fixable. Not many people realize, RCF comes with the touring version of Pilot Super Sports rather than the track version of the Super Sport on the M4 (denoted by XL). They are bit more easier to live with on a daily basis with softer sidewalls, but on the race track, XL versions are the one to get.

  21. shopwithaaron

    June 12, 2018 at 2:53 am

    I know a lot of sport coupes exhibit some lateral seat movement under high lateral loads…Seems like that seat is using the center console to keep the driver in place!! Great review none the less!

  22. Arslan Khalid

    June 12, 2018 at 6:23 am

    "I keep touching it because it feels strange" LOL

  23. Jimmy Heuangpangna

    June 12, 2018 at 11:24 pm

    Randy Poust drove both the M4 and RC F around Streets Of Willow Track. M4 ran 1:23.73. RC F ran 1:24.05….Now lets take away the M4's Launch Control, the Duel Clutch, and the Carbon Ceramic Brakes that it had….Now lets Go Again….(Crickets Chirping).

  24. LEXUriouS Kirk

    June 12, 2018 at 11:50 pm

    I wish we had one on the lot!!! Last week we sold our last LC. This week we sold our LFA Nurburgring. Not a lot of excitement going on right now.

  25. poy Mu

    June 13, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Why people keep calling this heavy. only M4 and ATS are lighter, RS5, C63, Q60 all about same weight as RCF

  26. poy Mu

    June 13, 2018 at 12:02 am

    Where this car shines is in it's GT characteristics. Comfort + V8 + High quality interior + Reliability + Resale value

  27. Pedro

    June 13, 2018 at 12:09 am

    ugly face

  28. Haruchio Pagani

    June 13, 2018 at 12:46 am

    1:50 You know you can change the track from the steering wheel and input an address via voice command or even your phone via the Enform app yes?

  29. James Wisrik

    June 13, 2018 at 3:47 am

    Carlos is a idiot!

  30. Rudy F

    June 13, 2018 at 4:26 am

    The new Camaro SS or the Mustang GT for half the cost will smoke this RC F in all departments except in luxury.

  31. Iggi Valencia

    June 13, 2018 at 4:44 am

    The performance is not far off from the competition. It was tested in Willow springs against the M4 and it was only behind by 0.2 seconds… with more throttle, steering and brake correction on the M4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top