Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2017 Honda Civic Si Sedan Car Review

Car Review

2017 Honda Civic Si Sedan Car Review



Drivers that are rich in enthusiasm but poor in the cash department, listen up. The eighth iteration of the Honda Civic Si has arrived and it’s a performance bargain. Available in coupe and sedan body styles, Tom Voelk checks out the four-door version.

😃 SUBSCRIBE ► | ★ PORSCHE 911 TURBO S REVIEW! ►

TURN ON NOTIFICATIONS BY CLICKING THE “BELL” BUTTON AFTER SUBSCRIBING!

— MORE CAR REVIEW VIDEOS! —
2012 Range Rover ➜
2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport ➜
2012 Audi A6 ➜
Dodge Challenger ➜
2017 Porsche 911 Turbo S ➜
2017 McLaren 570GT ➜
2016 Ferrari 488 GTB ➜
2016 Lamborghini Huracán LP 580-2 ➜
2017 Porsche 911 Carrera S Cabriolet ➜

— FOLLOW TOM VOELK AND GET DRIVEN GEAR! —
MY SITE ►
TWITTER ► Voelk

Car Reviews (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, etc.) on Lamborghini, McLaren, Ferrari, Dodge, Porsche, Range Rover, Audi, and more!

About Tom:
Tom Voelk is an award-winning automotive contributor to The New York Times. His podcast was the first to win an Emmy Award. He also married way out of his league. Now, stop reading this promotional copy bragging about Tom’s photography and editing skills and watch a couple episodes. It’s much more interesting.

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

50 Comments

50 Comments

  1. Randall Collins

    October 10, 2017 at 1:58 pm

    I have a '17 Focus ST with a Roush catback exhaust. Super fun to drive but it's no where near as refined as the Si or GTI. You really have to work the ST to make it behave but when you do, it's more rewarding. Seriously, try to contain 270 ft lbs of front-wheel drive torque (around 280 on mine with the exhaust) on that car! Woohoo!

  2. Arcticarc1

    October 10, 2017 at 2:00 pm

    Hey Tom, I think the Hatchback sport is the one to go since there isn't any major difference between that model and a SI (except for adaptive suspension). It's arguably more attractive and functionnal than the sedan.

  3. Naughtysauce

    October 10, 2017 at 2:06 pm

    They really cheaped out in the interior materials. My 2013 GLI is 4 years older & it's trimmed better for around the same price.

  4. Royhan

    October 10, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    Tom voelk is such a car god hes one of the best

  5. M240i Shenanigans

    October 10, 2017 at 2:21 pm

    Did you find your drone?!

  6. Joshua M

    October 10, 2017 at 2:25 pm

    The evil twin is wearing white. That was some creative shade, I’m here for it though.

  7. catsspat

    October 10, 2017 at 2:38 pm

    Maybe next version, with Honda-Sensing. Or, maybe Hyundai will beat Honda to the game by adding their version of adaptive cruise to Elantra Sport. I'm a bit surprised you didn't mention Elantra Sport as a competitor. Both sedans, both FWD, and both with turbo charged 4 cylinder with a little over 200HP.

    From what I've been reading, Honda-Sensing is not all that reliable.

  8. Diego Montoya

    October 10, 2017 at 2:42 pm

    I hear the new Hyundai Elantra GT-Sport is supposed to be quite practical with over 55 cubic ft. of interior volume with back seats folded down and motivated by the same 1.6L Turbo that's found in the Veloster Turbo and KIA Soul Turbo. It was a 7 speed DCT, if one isn't into manuals, but still wants quick shifts…

  9. cadsux

    October 10, 2017 at 3:03 pm

    I had a 2013 Accord Coupe, which had the right side lane-watch camera, and I found it very helpful especially when you're sharing the road with bicyclists, as well as parking. Then why doesn't Honda add a left one?

  10. cadsux

    October 10, 2017 at 3:05 pm

    Your choice of colors for the twins reminds me of that Clint Eastwood movie, Firefox, where he played a U.S. pilot (wearing black), who steals a Soviet jet fighter, then a Soviet pilot (wearing a white flight suit), goes after him.

  11. T H-L

    October 10, 2017 at 3:20 pm

    I love how everyone talks about Japanese quality, yet when you pushed the 'sport' button, the whole console flexed. The 'AS/S' button on my Dacia Sandero doesn't even flex, and the Sandero is the cheapest car in Europe 😂 – great review tho

  12. proximafase

    October 10, 2017 at 3:34 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever disagreed with you…ever. I always enjoy your videos. I previously owned a 2013, 14, and 16 Accord w/ LaneWatch. Loved that feature and never found it to be distracting. In my current car (Acura TLX), the blindspot system has “allowed” me to nearly sideswipe cars plenty of times. I miss the LaneWatch camera man!

    Keep up the excellent work (and please don’t disagree with me again…j/k)

  13. James Nelson

    October 10, 2017 at 3:36 pm

    I still enjoy your videos, but now that you wear your branded merchandise, are you in competition with Anderson Cooper for the Silver-Fox-in-Black-TShirt award?

  14. Mario Dalla Riva

    October 10, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    Tom, one of your colleagues pointed out that having a proper manual transmission, with clutch pedal and stick, can help counter mobile phone related distracted driving.
    His son is approaching 16 and will likely be driving standard when the time comes for getting his own wheels.

    Interesting thought.

  15. B Blackwell

    October 10, 2017 at 4:38 pm

    The Hyundai Elantra sport?

  16. Ma Hu

    October 10, 2017 at 4:42 pm

    Whatever Civic it is, this use to be a great “small” car. This thing is huge, almost Accord size! That’s why I got a Golf GTI!

  17. mpoon

    October 10, 2017 at 5:32 pm

    Tom, you deserve WAY more than 57k followers. I can’t recommend your reviews enough.

  18. Landon Kupfer

    October 10, 2017 at 5:49 pm

    Love the way you conduct your reviews keep them coming

  19. MiniCactuar

    October 10, 2017 at 6:29 pm

    People poor in the cash department don't buy new cars 🙂 Just saying…

  20. Jacob Hillman

    October 10, 2017 at 8:38 pm

    One day you'll be reviewing the new X-wings..

  21. Jamaican Me Crazy

    October 10, 2017 at 9:09 pm

    Can't wait for you to get the new Accord

  22. simonburkeisable

    October 10, 2017 at 10:25 pm

    Check you out in your merch!

  23. Mohammad Farajzadeh Tehrani

    October 10, 2017 at 10:57 pm

    Why not buying GTI? Why?

  24. caholla

    October 10, 2017 at 11:17 pm

    Most cars offer styling enhancement packages – extra spats, spoilers, fancy wheels etc. The Civic desperately needs a styling delete package.

  25. wrexel

    October 10, 2017 at 11:29 pm

    VW's dual clutch transmission isn't the most reliable..

  26. mistertee

    October 10, 2017 at 11:46 pm

    GTi all the way. There's something immature about the design of this gen Civic. It's what the college kids want nowadays, I guess.

  27. FourLiterV8

    October 10, 2017 at 11:52 pm

    Great review as always, Tom. Keep 'em coming.

  28. M Lee

    October 10, 2017 at 11:56 pm

    Shame about the 1.4l engine…even 2 litre cars are going away..

  29. TJC450

    October 11, 2017 at 12:36 am

    I think the exterior looks great. But the interior seems bleh.

  30. fasignal

    October 11, 2017 at 12:50 am

    I just love these companies , a little more power for a lot more money. I have a 14 year old buick , it has 245 HP

  31. headcas620

    October 11, 2017 at 5:24 am

    Still hideous and still too big.

  32. halopcdraco

    October 11, 2017 at 5:36 am

    2017 Hyundai Elantra Sport DCT Premium Package Review? I know I asked before and I know there are other reviews on it, but your video's are enjoyable from start to finish.

  33. Matthew Ku

    October 11, 2017 at 10:14 am

    Tom – perhaps my favourite part of any of your videos is your closing comment about the car before the 'director's commentary' starts. So quick, sharp and crisp – you really have a way with words there!

  34. Khalid Modi

    October 11, 2017 at 5:59 pm

    Interior quality is not good

  35. عبدالرحمن ابوعبدالله

    October 11, 2017 at 7:31 pm

    O_O focus O_O at 6.26 The front left tire need to fuel it

  36. Mr. Ash

    October 11, 2017 at 9:00 pm

    I like the Si, but I love the Type R

  37. John G.

    October 12, 2017 at 1:24 am

    I love honda, but why don't they ever offer an automatic on the SI?
    elantra sport and gti both offer an auto, i think the SI would sell much more with an auto. because i would buy it!

  38. Insanity Crow

    October 12, 2017 at 3:03 am

    What about the Elantra Sport? IRS, 1.6T, manual or DCT. Yeah you lose the LSD and the adaptive suspension but that just makes maintaining it less expensive too.

  39. willie s johnson

    October 12, 2017 at 3:01 pm

    LOL, 'sorry hatchback lovers, you're out of luck' ahh, that caffeinated Seattle water! Think I'll put this little scoot buggy on the kid's Christmas wish-list and see what mom thinks (love the review my friend) Psst "interesting social commentary" indeed

  40. Martin Smith

    October 12, 2017 at 3:34 pm

    The previous version was a much nicer looking vehicle. These are over styled.

  41. Mani Bhushan Prasad

    October 12, 2017 at 4:37 pm

    HI sir…urgent question…visited Ford showroom today ..almost finalised today Aspire Trend Diesel (Blue Colour) as per my requirement but make is of feb 2017 in ford showroom(six months workshop and 2 months display)..57k discount at showroom price…pls suggest as ur advice can lead to amendment in my decision..

  42. Ski Fall

    October 12, 2017 at 6:29 pm

    overpriced. next…

  43. MrSamsam911

    October 12, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    Too big, proportions don't quite work and definitely over designed :/

  44. Blake Swan

    October 13, 2017 at 6:21 am

    Besides a mechanical lsd, the Elantra Sport is superior in every way. Way better interior and exterior. Cheaper price. More equipment. I mean you can't even fully defeat stability control in the SI. Definitely not a sports car

  45. n c

    October 14, 2017 at 5:14 am

    Tom, any 100{09838598f11ec8d1b53c76126f66188d805d21cc55ad38a0e06196f6f3ec5878} cotton T-shirts available? Thanks!

  46. Megatron2013

    October 14, 2017 at 11:24 pm

    I haven't seen Evil Tom is a long time. Great to see him in the video.

  47. Benjamin Francis

    October 16, 2017 at 6:43 am

    The Elantra sport has similar power and is MUCH cheaper. I'd argue it's better looking too – worth a look if someone is in the market for a warm sedan.

  48. Claire Kennedy

    October 17, 2017 at 3:57 pm

    My friend has the coupe in electric green and someone asked if he drove a lambo! He averages about 32 MPG mostly city driving. Glide to red lighted in neutral and your mpg will rise.

  49. mfmf100

    October 21, 2017 at 6:00 pm

    Nice review. This car in this configuration seems like one of the better new car deals out there.

  50. A Train

    October 23, 2017 at 6:27 am

    So Tom, I'm a little late to figuring this out, but the NY Times no longer has the intelligence to run your reviews? Kind of like their oped page- searching for "balance" while the world falls into space So, politics aside, glad I discovered you again and your insights. So a suggestion- if VW ever gets around to issuing 2018 models in the US (I'm beginning to wonder) , how about the new Golf R and the Audi 3S- other than styling, that is, as you seem almost trustworthy, compared to so many of your track-rat competitors! Glad to find you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top