Connect with us

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

Car News – Reviews, New Car Concepts and Car Design

2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV Car Review

Car Review

2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV Car Review



The E.P.A. estimates the Chevrolet Bolt EV can travel 238 miles on a fully charged battery. In the process of finding out if that’s true, Tom Voelk determines if this is a car you’d want to live with as your only vehicle…

😃 SUBSCRIBE ►

TURN ON NOTIFICATIONS BY CLICKING THE “BELL” BUTTON AFTER SUBSCRIBING!

— MORE CAR REVIEW VIDEOS! —
2012 Range Rover ➜
2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport ➜
2012 Audi A6 ➜
Dodge Challenger ➜
2017 Porsche 911 Turbo S ➜
2017 McLaren 570GT ➜
2016 Ferrari 488 GTB ➜
2016 Lamborghini Huracán LP 580-2 ➜
2017 Porsche 911 Carrera S Cabriolet ➜

— FOLLOW TOM VOELK AND GET DRIVEN GEAR! —
MY SITE ►
TWITTER ► Voelk

Car Reviews (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, etc.) on Lamborghini, McLaren, Ferrari, Dodge, Porsche, Range Rover, Audi, and more!

About Tom:
Tom Voelk is an award-winning automotive contributor to The New York Times. His podcast was the first to win an Emmy Award. He also married way out of his league. Now, stop reading this promotional copy bragging about Tom’s photography and editing skills and watch a couple episodes. It’s much more interesting.

Genius, Innovator, Voice Actor, The Original Imposter, Cat Stroker. I like to step on crunchy leaves.

45 Comments

45 Comments

  1. igeekone

    September 13, 2017 at 1:26 am

    The interior is really bad for a $40k+ car. It looks darn right out of a Sonic. Ehhh, at that door panel 5:44 .

  2. mistertee

    September 13, 2017 at 2:48 am

    This or the e-Golf?

  3. McSMACKthe1st

    September 13, 2017 at 3:27 am

    A 238 mile range and you said you never felt like you were never worried about running out of power.
    I checked on the Chevy site and they have a program where you can enter your starting and ending points to see if you can make it on one charge.
    My sister lives 163 miles (LA to San Diego) from me and it says I would need to stop for a charge! Granted most of the drive is SoCal freeway driving but this really is for just city driving isn't it?

  4. Ele Truk

    September 13, 2017 at 5:37 am

    Washington State does have EV incentive – no sales tax (on new EVs). But GM financial has a hard time believing it and will probably result in numerous phone calls.

  5. Nichen

    September 13, 2017 at 9:06 am

    Wow that was a an amazing review!!! Well done.

  6. Allan T

    September 13, 2017 at 9:14 am

    Nice to see someone not compare it to the Tesla, yes Telsa is the best but not everyone is super rich either, Chevy have done it right

  7. Thomas Smith

    September 13, 2017 at 11:41 am

    The key to an electric car is: it can't look stupid. Car companies have one job: It has to look normal, it can't look stupid

  8. Kent Purdy

    September 13, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    Great review.

  9. ShineAqua

    September 13, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    Not a lot of people remember Sleater-Kinney. That makes me feel old.

  10. Van Huynh

    September 13, 2017 at 4:22 pm

    Great review Tom.

  11. Jamaican Me Crazy

    September 13, 2017 at 7:22 pm

    Lol Chevy should have been the Tesla of the electric car world. That even would have sold well.

  12. chris k

    September 13, 2017 at 8:40 pm

    6:12 I see what you did there.

  13. Lavonte A

    September 14, 2017 at 12:09 am

    I still love the Chevy Volt

  14. g496r500t

    September 14, 2017 at 1:40 am

    You're a great car reviewer!

  15. Tommy Estridge

    September 14, 2017 at 2:10 am

    Those car top carriers will cut down range.

  16. Brad Murren

    September 14, 2017 at 3:21 am

    Let's call this what this car will be.. a great USED car. You have to be crazy to buy this car new. Wait a few years and pick it up 50{09838598f11ec8d1b53c76126f66188d805d21cc55ad38a0e06196f6f3ec5878} off. Use some of that money you'll save installing your 220 charging unit in the garage.

  17. Benjamin Francis

    September 14, 2017 at 6:13 am

    I think this'll make a great used buy. At $43k it's hard to justify but when it gets down to $15k (and it will…pretty quickly) I'll be scouring AutoTrader for one. I like the look.

  18. Paul Martin

    September 14, 2017 at 6:58 am

    Roof racks will take a big chunk out of the range!

  19. Tim Mattox

    September 14, 2017 at 12:28 pm

    Got my Bolt 2 weeks ago and love it! This is a great review and still minimizes all of the neat features of the Bolt. Got my home charger installed from Amazon in 3 days. Been in a Tesla X and still love the Bolt more. While not as fancy, it has better viewing and is more spacious. With all of the Bolt features I have, the Tesla would be $60k and by the time I got one, the rebate would no longer be available. Go Chevy!!

  20. Charles McBride

    September 14, 2017 at 4:57 pm

    Where did you take the picture for the thumbnail,? Looks beautiful

  21. Chemtrail Dreams

    September 14, 2017 at 5:51 pm

    Can you clarify- I thought Washington still had no sales taxes for EVs?

  22. peterzpictstube

    September 14, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    I think GM's slow rolling these to not risk bad press. The real road trip weakness is the dearth of DC fast charging to make road tripping with one viable. Tesla is all over it with their superchargers. GM could get a lot closer if they put them all their Chevy dealers nationwide. Not leaving town then you are good to go and don't have to worry about charging to get through a day.

  23. Ali 1002jj

    September 14, 2017 at 9:12 pm

    Ev cars are the future cars

  24. J Segal

    September 15, 2017 at 1:30 am

    Looks so good in black- especially with the doodads on the roof. And rush hour with ac cranked is the smartest review I've seen for an EV.

  25. Doug N

    September 15, 2017 at 4:29 am

    I agree with Tom. Its as if GM wants to keep this car a secret. I never heard of it until I saw some guys chatting about it on a website. I thought they had made typos… Bolt, Volt.

  26. Peter L

    September 15, 2017 at 7:39 pm

    Great review.

  27. Patrick De Haan

    September 16, 2017 at 6:35 am

    Best affordable . . . bla, bla bla….for $43 grand???

  28. Dave Derrig

    September 16, 2017 at 5:34 pm

    I had a Volt and traded it in on a Bolt. This review is spot on, its fun to drive, fast and has more range than ill really ever need. We have a Subaru Outback for long trips but this fills the bill for everything else. With no sales tax here in Washington on the first 32k and after the rebate from uncle Sam total cost was under 30k. This is great car!

  29. kevin n

    September 16, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    Amazing, GM just produced an awesome EV.  Bravo GM engineers!  It's a shame the designers and bean counters let you down.  Stop trying so hard to be funky with their excessive bling inside and out …. go sit in a Volvo S90 or V90 and soak in real design excellence…

    After you sit in the new Volvos for a couple months, imagine what the next V60 will be and go build a GM V60 EV and I'll buy one.  Or a GM XC60 EV with the Bolt's range?

  30. PYT

    September 17, 2017 at 5:44 pm

    For $250 a month lease, this car is AMAZING! Plus CA gives you at least $2500. I use it almost every day and charge once a week at work or home.

  31. Michael Kirven

    September 17, 2017 at 11:00 pm

    Great review, Tom. Had a chance to drive one yesterday at a National Drive Electric Week event here in Pittsburgh yesterday. How did you like the front seats, and how's the ELR running? Thanks!

  32. MrSamsam911

    September 18, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    I really like the design in and out for what this car is

  33. Robert Aitchison

    September 18, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    Good review, I've been considering a Bolt but most reviews have said the interior is pretty horrific.

  34. Licensed 2 style

    September 20, 2017 at 1:20 pm

    I think so too that this is an excellent car and that GM in fact has killed it on this one. No need for Tesla anymore…

  35. dMb

    September 23, 2017 at 9:28 pm

    LOL, 89 is "hot."

  36. TJC450

    September 23, 2017 at 10:57 pm

    I too wish there was a sunroof. But EV purists will say "it adds weight". Trust me I'll take a few miles less in range to have a feature I want.

  37. Jeff S.

    September 24, 2017 at 1:22 pm

    I like the new longer format of your reviews. Best of luck with the YouTube venture.

  38. spacegreycoralred

    September 24, 2017 at 4:16 pm

    Why doesn't anyone tell the truth…. it's overpriced and cheaply made. Typical Chevy corner cutting crap for $44000

  39. LordLauderdale

    September 27, 2017 at 12:12 am

    Why drive around with a roof rack that’s not being used and increases energy consumption plus reduces range?

  40. CanadaCraig

    September 28, 2017 at 2:29 pm

    Very nice!

  41. My-anh Claxton

    September 28, 2017 at 11:41 pm

    how about a review on the Kia Niro Hybrid. I don't see one listed for you!

  42. FrostFire

    October 5, 2017 at 11:49 am

    Great review! Interested in this and the Nissan Leaf, can't wait to see your review of the new one. Also, HELL YES on the Sleater-Kinney shout out!

  43. ERIC & CINDY Crowder

    October 15, 2017 at 10:36 am

    Recommend using a wider shutter for the outside car scenes to avoid the strobe wheel effect. May need to use ND filter on lens to allow wide enough shutter to ensure desirable motion blur on spinning wheels

  44. Asiri Iroshan

    October 17, 2017 at 10:12 am

    Thanks for this video. A well detailed GREAT video. Actuall, now I understand how good this car is.

  45. netman88

    October 22, 2017 at 6:09 am

    Great video Tom, wish they make a bigger version.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Car Review

To Top